You are here : Home > LEMMA team > Projects and research themes > Development of EDX Chemical Analysis in SEM and TEM

Development of EDX Chemical Analysis in SEM and TEM

Published on 21 March 2022
Contact: Éric Robin
Publications: E.Robin/ResearchGate

Important developments are done to improve the detection, distribution, and quantitation of chemical elements in nanostructures analyzed by Energy Dispersive X-ray (EDX) spectrometry in SEM and TEM. These developments are conducted through three different projects:




Correction terms computed with the IZAC code: input data are detected intensities and tilt; output data are mass-thickness and composition.
Robin, CEA-patent:
2017: EP3032244B1;
2019: US10240918B2
The IZAC project: This project aims at developing a new quantification routine which may applied over a wide range of accelerating voltage (5-200 kV) and on various materials, i.e., from thin to massive structures and from pure substances to multi-element compounds. The routine is based on a patented Ф(ρz)-corrected zeta-factor method whose principle is to correct the measured X-ray intensity from matrix effects which affect the generation and emission of the radiations resulting from the partial deceleration of the electron beam and potential absorption of the radiations in the analyzed volume. It thus differs from commonly used quantification routines which assume either no deceleration (k- and zeta-factor methods) or total deceleration (ZAF and Ф(ρz) methods) of the electron beam in the specimen. The routine was also implemented with a new model of X-ray absorption allowing absorption correction of low energy X-ray in heterogeneous specimens. The routine is today currently applied in SEM and TEM to the determination of the mass-thickness and composition of a wide variety of nanostructures with relative precision better than ±5%.



EDX concentration profiles of Mg and In along the growth axis of a Mg-In co-doped AlN nanowire.
Siladie et al., Nano Letters, 2019
The DOMINO project: This project aims at developing the potential of wide solid angle EDX detectors for characterizing low levels of dopants (down to 1018 at/cm3) at the nanoscale (10 nm) in SEM and TEM. This can be achieved, firstly, thanks to recent advances of EDX systems, particularly with the emergence of new detector designs having a wide collection efficiency (FlatQuad 5060 in SEM and Super X detectors in TEM), and secondly, thanks to three major innovations which are: 1) the use of specific X-ray filters for enhancing the signal to noise ratio, 2) the implementation of new analytical procedures for removing the residual background of X-ray spectra and 3) the development of a new computational code for processing and quantifying data using the IZAC code. The technique was applied successfully for quantifying low level of P dopants in Ge nanowires and of Mg, Si, Ge and In dopants in (Ga,Al)N nanostructures.



Quantitative 3D reconstruction of the structure and composition of a CdTe quantum box in a ZnTe nanowire. Rueda-Fonseca et al., Nano Letters, 2016
The NANO3D project: This project aims at developing a fast and easy method for the quantitative 3D reconstruction of core-shell nanostructures. The method requires a maximum of two X-ray maps acquired at two different tilt angles, preferably perpendicular to each other. The method is based on the modelling of the nanostructure cross-section using a series of imbricated ellipses whose dimensions are defined by their major and minor diameters. The number of ellipses depends on the number of chemical phases which are identified from the concentration profiles determined with the IZAC code. The position and orientation of each ellipse are determined by the coordinates of their respective centers and the overall tilt of the nanostructure, respectively. More sophisticated models, using hexagons or rectangles instead of ellipses, have been developed to consider the facetted sidewalls of crystalline nanostructures. These models are based on the elliptical model, by constructing the tangents to an ellipse, and hence, are defined by the same parameters, which is useful when comparing models. The method was applied for reconstructing core-shell nanostructures on (Mg, Mn, Cd, Zn)(Te,Se) nanowires, (Al, Cu, Sn)(Si,Ge) nanowires, (In,Ga)As nanowires and (Pt, Co) nanoparticles.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe LEMMA > Thématiques et projets de rech ... > Développement des analyses chimiques par EDX en SEM et TEM

Développement des analyses chimiques par EDX en SEM et TEM

Publié le 21 mars 2022
Contact : Éric Robin
Publications : E.Robin/ResearchGate

D’importants développements sont faits pour améliorer la détection, la distribution et la quantification d’éléments chimiques dans des nanostructures analysées par spectrométrie EDX (Energy Dispersive X-ray) dans les SEM et les TEM. Ces développements sont conduits à travers trois différents projets :



Correction terms computed with the IZAC code: input data are detected intensities and tilt; output data are mass-thickness and composition.
Robin, CEA-patent:
2017: EP3032244B1;
2019: US10240918B2
Le projet IZAC : Ce projet vise à développer une nouvelle routine de quantification, pouvant être appliquée à une large gamme de tensions d’accélération (5-200 kV) et sur de nombreux matériaux, allant des structures minces à épaisses, des éléments purs aux composés multiéléments. Cette nouvelle routine est basée sur la méthode du zêta-facteur corrigée du Ф(ρz) dont le principe est de corriger l’intensité du rayonnement X mesurée des effets matriciels qui affectent l’émission et la génération des radiations (décélération partielle ou totale du faisceau d’électrons et absorption potentielle des radiations dans le volume analysé). De ce fait, la méthode diffère des routines de quantification classiques qui, soit ne tiennent pas compte de la décélération du faisceau d’électrons (méthode du zêta-facteur) et de l’absorption des rayons X dans la matière (méthode du k-facteur), soit une décélération totale des électrons dans l’échantillon (méthodes ZAF et Ф(ρz)). Cette routine a également été implémentée avec un nouveau modèle d’absorption des rayons X permettant une correction d’absorption dans des échantillons hétérogènes. Cette routine est aujourd’hui appliquée en SEM et TEM pour la détermination d’épaisseurs et de composition d’un large panel de nano-structures avec une précision relative inférieure à ±5 %. 



EDX concentration profiles of Mg and In along the growth axis of a Mg-In co-doped AlN nanowire.
Siladie et al., Nano Letters, 2019
Le projet DOMINO : Ce projet vise à développer le potentiel des détecteurs EDX à fort angle solide pour la caractérisation de faibles niveaux de dopants (jusqu’à moins de 1018 at/cm3) à l’échelle nanométrique (10 nm) en SEM et en TEM. Cela est possible premièrement grâce à l’apparition de nouveaux types détecteurs ayant une grande efficacité de collection (FlatQuad 5060 en SEM et détecteurs Super X en TEM), et deuxièmement grâce à trois innovation majeures qui sont : 1) l’utilisation de filtres spécifiques qui améliorent le rapport signal/bruit, 2) l’implémentation de nouvelles procédures analytiques pour éliminer le bruit résiduel du spectre de rayons X, et 3) le développement de nouveaux codes de calcul pour le traitement et la quantification des données au moyen du code IZAC. Ces innovations ont permis la mesure de faibles niveaux de dopants P (1018 cm-3) dans des nanofils de Germanium, ainsi que la mesure des dopants de Mg, Si et In dans des nanostructures de (Ga,Al)N.



Quantitative 3D reconstruction of the structure and composition of a CdTe quantum box in a ZnTe nanowire. Rueda-Fonseca et al., Nano Letters, 2016
Le projet NANO3D : Ce projet vise au développement d’une méthode rapide et fiable pour la reconstruction quantitative 3D nanostructures cœur-coquille. Cette méthode requiert un maximum de deux cartographies X acquises à deux angles de tilt différents, de préférence perpendiculaires entre eux. Cette méthode est basée sur la modélisation de la section des nanostructures au moyen d’une série d’ellipses imbriquées, dont les dimensions sont définies par leurs diamètres mineurs et majeurs. Le nombre d’ellipses dépend du nombre d’espèces chimiques identifiées depuis le profil de concentration déterminé par le code IZAC. La position et l’orientation de chaque ellipse sont déterminées par les coordonnées de leurs centres respectifs et l’angle de tilt global de la nanostructure. Des modèles plus sophistiqués, utilisant des hexagones ou des rectangles au lieu d’ellipses, ont été développés afin de prendre en compte les facettes des parois des nanostructures cristallines. Ces modèles sont basés sur le modèle elliptique, par construction des tangentes à une ellipse, et sont de ce fait définis par les mêmes paramètres, ce qui est utile lorsque l’on veut comparer ces modèles. Cette méthode a été appliquée pour la reconstruction de nanostructures cœur-coquille de nanofils de (Mg, Mn, Cd, Zn)(Te, Se), (Al,Cu,Sn)(Si, Ge) et (In, Ga)As ainsi que des nanoparticules de (Pt, Co).