You are here : Home > LEMMA team > Projects and research themes > Atomic scale (S)TEM analysis for low-dimensional materials and interfaces

Atomic scale (S)TEM analysis for low-dimensional materials and interfaces

Published on 3 June 2022

Contact: Hanako Okuno

LEMMA laboratory is developing advanced microscopy techniques to study low-dimensional materials including 1D- and 2D-materials and atomically thin interfaces. To avoid the beam irradiation damages, generally low-voltage aberration corrected (S)TEM is used for material analysis. The main purpose is to provide structural and chemical information at atomic scale with our expertise in monochromated TEM, aberration corrected STEM, EDX, EELS and 4D-STEM using two state of the arts microscopes (Titan Ultimate and Titan Themis). We are working on diverse problematics in low-dimensional materials, such as growth and property control, in strong national and international collaborations with several research groups.

Main collaborations :
Spintec, L_Sim, Leti, LTM (CNRS), Institut Néel (CRS), IRAMIS (CEA-Saclay), NCSR (Greece), UCL (Belgique)

Structural analysis of graphene (coll. Liten, L-Sim, Institut Néel, INP, IRAMIS)
Structural defects are considered as a parameter-tuning knob for tailoring physical properties of 2D materials. The ability to engineer atomic defects at nanometer scale opens up unique opportunities to alter and enhance electrical, optical, mechanical and magnetic properties. Despite the growing interest in 2D materials, growing defect-free 2D materials on desired substrates remains a challenge. Identification and characterization of these inevitable intrinsic growth defects are thus an essential process. As graphene is one-atom thick layer consisting of only light carbon atoms, atomic structure analysis requires a special microscopy condition. Titan Ultimate equipped with image aberration corrector and monochromator allows to achive atomic resolution TEM imaging at 80kV and provides information on atomic defect structures to study the growth and properties.


Figures: (left) Grain boundary with 5-7 lines defects and dislocations found in CVD graphene, demonstrated as the key for re-crystallization (A. Tyurnina et al., Carbon 102 p499, 2016) and (right) experimentally observed flower defects and related DFT calculated structures, which are used for “engineering by design” concept (A. Cresti et al., Carbon 161 p259, 2020).

Epitaxilly grown TMDs and their VdW heterstructures (coll. Spintec, NCSR, LTM)
Atomic structures in MBE grown transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDs) and related materials can be identified using monochromated TEM and aberration corrected STEM (Titan Ultimate and Themis). HAADF Z-contrast imaging provides local atomic position together with their elemental attribution. VdW and quasi vdW epitaxial growth is studied by either plan-view or cross sectional analysis, providing information on local structural correlation between stacked materials. Newly developed 4D-STEM imaging enables to map local orientation and phase in epitaxially grown 2D monolayers. These techniques are combined with other analytical techniques (XRD, AFM, XPS, STM) to study growth mechanisms and to explore new functionality of materials in strong collaboration with materials teams. In situ observation (under e- irradiation and/or at high temperature) is also used to study the dynamics of structural modification.


Figures: (left) Typical defect found in MBE grown MoSe2 determined by monochromated TEM imaging. Inversion domains are formed due to Se deficiency induced during the growth process (C. Alvarez et al., Nanotechnology 29 p425706, 2018) and (right) Cross sectional STEM image of Fe5GeTe2; complex Fe atom position was determined by a comparison with simulated image (M. Ribeiro et al., 2D Materials and Applications 6, p1, 2022).

Chemical analysis of atomically thin layers
Local chemical identification in 2D layers can be achieved by two different techniques. HAADF Z-contrast imaging gives a quantitative chemical contrast. Impurities as dopant and/or elements in heterostructures are locally determined by comparing the intensity profiles in experimental images and simulated ones. As the intensity profile is sensitively impacted by residual aberration and sample tilt, a perfect microscopy setting is required for reliable chemical analysis. EELS spectroscopy is also used for direct elemental determination. However the technique requires a long acquisition time to correct enough signals, special sample preparation is often needed, such as extreme clean surface and/or graphene protection layer, for damage free analysis at 80kV.


Figures: Identification of vanadium single atom dopant substitutionally integrated in W site of WSe2 monolayer (P. Mallet et al., Physical Review Letters, 125, p036802, 2020) by different microscopy techniques; (left) Z-contrast quantitative imaging and (right) EELS atomic resolution spectrum imaging.

Atomic scale electric field mapping by CoM (coll. Institut Néel, UC Louvain)
We are currently developing diverse 4D-STEM techniques in the laboratory (See also). A focused electron probe is raster scanned over the sample, and a diffraction pattern is acquired at each probe position. The presence of an (electric) field in the sample results in a deflection of the transmitted beam. Therefore, careful analysis of the transmitted beam position can give access to electric fields with atomic spatial resolution, and through Poisons equations, to the charge density and electrostatic potential. Using low voltage aberration corrected STEM and a high speed camera, electric field in 2D monolayer can be mapped by measuring the Centre of Mass (CoM) in transmitted beam. The technique is under development for the purpose to investigate defect induced local charges in 2D materials, such as doped or Moiré samples.


Figures: HAADF image of WSe2 monolayer (2D material), local electric field and charge density maps calculated from deflection of transmitted beam (ongoing PhD Thesis of K. Sharma and D. Desenovic).

Interface analysis (coll. NPSC, LTM, Spintec)
Cross-sectional specimen prepared by FIB technology allows access to interface analysis of stacked building blocks such as thin layers and vdW heterostructures. Study of phenomena happening at atomic interface, such as intermixing, diffusion, intercalation, evolution of chemical bonding state, is possible by combining (S)TEM imaging and spectroscopy.


Figures: (left) 2D indium metal layer formed under graphene layer via intercalation between buffer layer and SiC substrate (N. Feldberg et al., Nanotechnology 30, p375602, 2019) and (right) evolution of oxidation state of Ti in extreme surface of STO at the interface with Al, followed by EELS spectrum imaging (DC Vaz et al., Nature Materials 18, p1187, 2019).

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe LEMMA > Thématiques et projets de rech ... > Analyse (S)TEM à resolution atomique

Analyse (S)TEM à resolution atomique

Publié le 3 mai 2022

Contact : Hanako Okuno

Le laboratoire LEMMA développe des techniques avancées de microscopie pour l’étude de matériaux 1D et 2D, incluant des matériaux 1D et 2D et les interfaces atomiquement fines. Pour éviter les irradiations dûes au faisceau, de l’imagerie (S)TEM  à basse tension est généralement utilisée pour les analyses de matériaux. L’objectif principal est de fournir des informations structurelles et chimiques à l’échelle atomique, grâce à notre expertise en TEM monochromaté, STEM à correction d’aberrations , EDX, EELS et 4D-STEM utilisant deux microscopes à la pointe de la technologie (Titan Ultimate et Titan Themis). Nous travaillons sur diverses problématiques des ùatériaux 1D et 2D, comme la croissance, le contrôle des propriétés des matériaux, dans des collaborations fortes avec d’autres groups de recherché au niveau national comme international.


Main collaborations :
Spintec, L_Sim, Leti, LTM (CNRS), Institut Néel (CRS), IRAMIS (CEA-Saclay), NCSR (Greece), UCL (Belgique)

Analyse structurelle du graphène (coll. Liten, L-Sim, Institut Néel, INP, IRAMIS)
Les défauts structurels sont considérés comme un paramètre levier pour le réglage des propriétés physiques des matériaux 2D. La capacité à créer des défauts atomiques à l’échelle nanométrique ouvre des possibilités pour améliorer ou diminuer les propriétés électriques, optiques, mécaniques et magnétiques. Malgré l’intérêt grandissant dans les matériaux 2D, la croissance de matérieux 2D sans défauts reste difficile, l’indentification et la caractérisation de ces inévitables défauts de croissance intrinsèques reste donc un processus essentiel. Comme le graphène est une couche d’une épaisseur mono-atomique, composée uniqueme,nt d’atomes de carbone légers, l’analyse de structure atomique requiert des conditions microscopiques particulières. Le Titan Ultimate est équipé d’un correcteur d’aberrations et d’un monochromateur, permettant de réaliser de l’imagerie TEM à resolution atomique à 80kV, ainsi qu’à fournir des informations sur les défauts de structure atomique permettant d’étudier la croissance et les propriétés du matériau.


Figures : (gauche) Limite de grain avec 5-7 défauts linéaires et dislocations trouvés dans le graphène CVD, démontrés comme la clé de la recristallisation (A. Tyurnina et al., Carbon 102 p499, 2016) et (droite) défauts floraux observés expérimentalement et structures connexes calculées par DFT, qui sont utilisés pour le concept d'" ingénierie par la conception " (A. Cresti et al., Carbon 161 p259, 2020).

Croissance de TMD (Transition Metal Dichalcogenides) par épitaxie et leurs hétérostructures Van der Waals (coll. Spintec, NCSR, LTM)
Les structures atomiques présentes dans les TMD obtenus par croissance MBE (et autres matériaux associés) peuvent être identifies en utilisant un TEM monochromaté et un STEM à correction d’aberration (Titan Ultimate & Themis). L’imagerie à contraste-Z HAADF fournit la position des atomes, de même que leur attribution élémentaire. Les croissances épitaxialles Van der Waals et quasi-Van der Waals sont étudiées soit en vue planaire soit en analyse cross-section, donnant des informations sur les corrélations de structures locales entre matériaux d’un même stack. De nouvelles methodes d’imagerie 4D-STEM permettent de carthographier l’orientation et la phase dans des monocouches 2D obtenues par croissance épitaxique. Ces techniques sont combinées avec d’autres méthodes d’analyse (XRD, AFM, XPS, STM) pour étudier les mécanismes de croissance et pour explorer de nouvelles fonctionaliés pour les matériaux, en forte collaboration avec les équipes matériaux. De l’observation in-situ (sous irradiation électronique et/ou à haute températures) est également utilisée pour étudier les dynamiques de modification structurelles.


Figures : (gauche) Défaut typique trouvé dans le MoSe2 cultivé par MBE, déterminé par imagerie TEM monochromatique. Les domaines d'inversion sont formés en raison de la carence en Se induite pendant le processus de croissance (C. Alvarez et al., Nanotechnology 29 p425706, 2018) et (droite) Image STEM en coupe transversale de Fe5GeTe2 ; la position de l'atome complexe de Fe a été déterminée par comparaison avec l'image simulée (M. Ribeiro et al., 2D Materials and Applications 6, p1, 2022).

Analyse chimique de couches atomiquement fines
L’identifaiction chimique locale dans des couches 2D peut être réalisée à travers deux techniques différentes. L’imagerie à contraste-Z HAADF donne un contraste chimique quantitatif. Les impuretés comme les dopants et/ou des éléments appartenant à des hétérostructures sont déterminées localement en comparant les profils d’intensité dans les images obtenues expérimentalment et les images simulées. Puisque le profil d’intensité est sensiblement impacté par des aberrations résiduelles et du tilt d’échantilon, des praramètres d’observations parfaits sont requis pour une analyse chimique fiable. La spectroscopie EELS est également utilsée pour une détermination élémentale directe, cependant cette technique requiert un long temps d’acquisition pour corriger assez de signaux et une preparation spéciale de l’échantillon est généralement requise, comme des surfaces extrêmement propres et/ou une couche de protection en graphène pour une analyse non-destructive à 80kV.


Figures : Identification du dopant atomique unique vanadium intégré par substitution dans le site W de la monocouche WSe2 (P. Mallet et al., Physical Review letters, 125, p036802, 2020) par différentes techniques de microscopie ; (à gauche) imagerie quantitative à contraste Z et (à droite) imagerie spectrale à résolution atomique EELS.

Carthographie des champs électriques à échelle atomique par Centre de Masse (CoM) (coll. Institut Néel, UC Louvain)
Nous développons au laboratoire actuellement plusieurs techniques 4D-STEM. Un balayage de trame d’une sonde d’électron focalisée est passé sur l’échantillon, et un pattern de diffraction est acquis pour chaque position de la sonde. La presence d’un champ (électrique) dans l’échantillon résulte dans la déflexion du faisceau transmis, une analyse minutieuse de la position du faisceau transmis peut conduire aux champs électrique avec une resolution spatiale atomique en utilisant les équations de Poisson, avec la densité de charge et le potentiel électrostatique. En utilisant du STEM à basse tension et correction d’aberrations, en conjonction avec une caméra rapide, on peut faire une carthographie des champs électriques dans une monocouche 2D, en mesurant le centre de masse (Center of Mass, CoM) dans le faisceau transmis. Cette techniques est en développement dans le but de mieux comprendre les charges locales induites par des défauts dans les structures 2D, comme dans des échantillons dopes ou des échantillons Moiré.


Figures : Image HAADF d'une monocouche de WSe2 (matériau 2D), cartes de champ électrique local et de densité de charge calculées à partir de la déviation du faisceau transmis (en cours de thèse de K. Sharma et D. Desenovic).

Analyse d’interface (coll. NPSC, LTM, Spintec)
Les échantillons Cross-section préparés avec une technologie FIB (Focused Ion Beam) permettent d’observer et de faire l’analyse de l’interface entre les différentes couches d’échantillons stackés, comme les couches fines d’hétérostructures van der Walls. L’étude du phénomène prenant place à l’interface entre les couches, comme l’insertion, la diffusion, le mélange (intermixing?) ou l’évolution de l’état des liaisons chimiques sont possibles en combinant imagerie (S)TEM et spectroscopie.


Figures : (gauche) Couche métallique d'indium 2D formée sous la couche de graphène via l'intercalation entre la couche tampon et le substrat SiC (N. Feldberg et al., Nanotechnology 30, p375602, 2019) et (droite) évolution de l'état d'oxydation du Ti dans la surface extrême du STO à l'interface avec l'Al, suivie de l'imagerie du spectre EELS. (DC Vaz et al., Nature Materials 18, p1187, 2019).